The New Arqus joint Master’s programme in International Cybersecurity and Cyber Intelligence is now open for applications. The joint programme brings together the expertise and academic excellence of four Arqus universities (the Universities of Granada, Minho, Padua, and Vilnius) and is offered entirely in English.The second semester of the study programme will be conducted at the Faculty of Mathematics and Informatics at Vilnius University.

This programme is designed to provide a further qualification for excellently trained and highly motivated international graduates who have completed an academic degree of at least 180 ECTS credits (Bachelor’s degree programme of at least 180 ECTS at EQF6 level according to the European Qualifications Framework) in Information Technology programmes (Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Information Systems, Telecommunications, Informatics, Software Engineering, etc.). Students must have sufficient skills in writing, reading, and speaking English that are equivalent to at least B2 level as described in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

The Master’s programme comprises 120 ECTS credits, corresponding to a study period of four semesters or two years, in line with the respective regulations governing the partner institutions.

The Universities of Padua and Minho are responsible for the teaching during the first semester. Vilnius University takes over during the second semester, and the University of Granada delivers the lectures in the third one. The last semester is designated for the Master’s Thesis, with tutoring from all partners of the consortium; the graduation week is held face-to-face in Minho.

The programme benefits significantly from strong industry support, with several companies actively engaging in classes and seminars. Direct participation from these entities adds a practical dimension to the learning experience, offering students valuable insights, real-world perspectives, and exposure to current industry practices. These partners are “Securiq Sistemas” SL, “AIQ” (Madrid, Spain),”DigitalSign – Certificadora Digital” SA (Guimarães, Portugal), “Eurotux Informática” SA (Braga, Portugal), “Amped” SRL (Trieste, Italy), “Qascom” SRL (Bassano del Grappa, Italy), and “Fundación IMDEA Networks” (Madrid, Spain).

The application of relevant technical skills will be the learning outcome of a series of specialised courses, each focused on a particular security context:

  • Digital Forensics
  • Secure Software Development
  • Operating Systems Security
  • Security of Applications
  • Network Security
  • Mobile Security
  • Cyber-Physical and IoT Security

The following courses give the programme a strong characterisation on the technical, legal, economic, social, and international political aspects of cybersecurity and cyberintelligence:

  1. Fundamentals of International Cybersecurity
  2. Law and Data
  3. Privacy-Preserving Information Access
  4. International Management of Cybersecurity
  5. International Cyber Intelligence
  6. International Cooperation in Cyberspace
  7. Cyberwarfare

The joint programme also offers the following special features:

  • Different disciplinary and regional perspectives on selected topics
  • Joint teaching programme with virtual lectures
  • Joint supervision of the Master’s Thesis
  • Physical and virtual mobility options

The application deadline is 15 March 2024


For more information, please visit the programme website.

The Master’s programme is supported by European funding through the Cyberactioning project under the Digital Europe Programme of the European Union.

If you have any questions, please contact


Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies. More information